I’m rich, but I don’t have any money.

My birthday is my favorite day of the year. I count down to the next March 26th starting as soon as the calendar flips to March 27th! The past two birthdays have been filled with tears and this year was no exception. I spent the morning of my birthday with my tiny miss and received the sweetest gift I’ve ever gotten from a family that has quickly became my own and cried when my mom called to retell the story of my birth and how my dad was so proud. I ate dinner at my granny’s with the fam and came home and cried because I didn’t have plans for my birthday and life was happening and I missed my dad. However, a night out with my best friend like old times and a road trip to see three of my favorite artist made up for all those tears. I am now on my spring break and have been in a reflective mood. I often get this way around my birthday, I am more grateful for another year to live despite how hard the previous year has been than I have ever been. My dad’s death changed something in me and I lost a piece of my heart that I’ll never get back the day he died, It also woke me up to see what life is and how it’s happening, right now, whether you live it or not. I’ve taken more chances and did more things in this past year than I have in my entire life. There’s a song lyric from a band I saw on Monday that says

“Isn’t it funny how the simple things in life are the only things that really matter… yeah we’re rich but we ain’t got no money” -Judah and the Lion

My dad got that. He lived by that. I never saw him sweat the small things or big things for that matter. I’ve realized that this past year and am still learning it. Life happens, y’all. Shocker right?! Money makes things happen, but its not the important thing. I’m learning to find joy in the little things and roll with the punches. It’s the freedom and anonymity in traveling by yourself to a concert an hour away. It’s dancing with a complete stranger. It’s getting gifts from people who choose to love you, warts and all. It’s spending time with family even if they drive you batty, It’s racing to the door and laughing out loud with your best friend, not giving a care who sees you. It’s the glimpse in the mirror where you see yourself and say out loud, “Dang girl, let me holler at you!”. It’s watching Hart of Dixie into the wee hours with my mom. It’s seeing the beauty in the place you are right now. It’s freedom in making your own way. It’s meeting with a professor, that you hate his class but connect with him and he instantly becomes one you’ll always remember. It’s realizing you are not your weight or how people see you. It’s realizing dreams you never knew you had. Those are the things that make you rich and make this challenging, messy, crazy life worth living It’s those things that make you rich.

Xoxo,

Sam

PicMonkey Collage

Published by

littlebitsofme22

Hi, I'm Sam. 25. Southern sweetheart with a passionate soul, caring heart, and a want to change the world. Jesus, coffee, the written word, animals, and finding beauty in everything are some of my favorite things. On a journey to be whoever He says I am. I write about life, pop culture, body positivity, my journey of grief, living and dealing with Uterine Cancer, and God. I think a lot, so come along as I share my thoughts and little bits of this and that.

Leave a Reply

